Nominations accepted for International Women Awards

By Rob Vogt
Women do so much in their homes and their community without much, if any, recognition.
Now, is your chance to recognize women who have made a difference both at home and the community.
Nominations are being accepted for the Claresholm 2024 International Women Awards until Friday, March 1.
The awards were started in Claresholm by Mary Holgate who won a similar award when she was living in Merritt, British Columbia.
“It was humbling,” she said.
After that, she learned more about International Women’s Day, then started the awards last year.
Holgate has assembled eight women who are organizing the awards this year.
There are six categories:
• Volunteer – A woman who is sincerely dedicated to donating her time to individuals or organization(s) to make a difference.
• Mentor – A woman who shares her talents, skills, and advice to help others reach their goals in their life journey and/or career goals.
• Women in male-dominated occupations – A woman working in a career that is typically a male-dominated trade or occupation.
• Domestic engineer – A stay-at-home mother or homemaker who is enthusiastically involved in an enrichment of activities for not only her family but possibly for others (elderly parents, seniors, other parents, children and or her community).
• Woman entrepreneur – An extraordinary, influential business woman who is successful, incorporates respected values, and/or has made an impact in the community.
• Lemonade – A woman who values her life journeys as learning experiences that have contributed to her being a person who perseveres, seeks the positive side of life challenges, and exudes an abundance of inspiration.
Nomination forms are available at Flowers on 49th, Janet’s Fashions, and Willow Creek Quilts.
In order to nominate someone, fill out the nomination form and provide a written description of why that woman deserves the award she is being nominated for.
Completed forms in sealed envelopes can then be dropped at Flowers on 49th, Janet’s Fashions, and Willow Creek Quilts.
The entry deadline is March 1.
The organizing committee will pick up the forms, go through them, and narrow each category down to three finalists.
They will choose a winner from each category from those top three nominees.
Holgate stresses that if any member of the committee has a conflict of interest, they will excuse themselves from that part of the discussion.
Then, on March 8, the winners will be notified.
“No one will know until that day,” Holgate said.
Instead, the committee will deliver the news in person.
“We’re going to show up at people’s work,” Holgate said.
She encourages everyone to pick up a form and nominate a worthy woman.
“Everybody needs a little boost,” Holgate said. “It’s always nice to recognize someone for going above and beyond.
“If you know someone who’s gone above and beyond, give them a shout out.”